New Year…..New You?

new-years-eve-1249941_1920.jpg

This week officially ends 2016–which is kind of a daunting thought!

I don’t know about you, but I have lots of thoughts, ideas, and plans for the New Year.

I’m making lists, sorting through stuff, and trying to decide….just what do I want to plan for the New Year? What do I want to accomplish, what do I want to change?

If you’re like me, you have grand plans. Like, super big dreams of how things are going to be different.

For me, I have new ideas I want to try for healthy living (think green juice detox), plans for time management (morning routine), and self-improvement to work on (memorizing Bible passages and simplifying my life in general).

But will I really accomplish it all?

I must say I did pretty good for 2016. There were only two things I didn’t get to cross off my list, but there was a whole bunch of stuff I did that I hadn’t planned on.

The thing is (and we all know this) that life doesn’t go according to plan.

At least, life doesn’t go according to our plan.

I believe God has a plan for our lives (for our good) and He works everything out, sometimes not the way we wish but always for the best.

I get ahead of myself. I’m a dreamer, and I plan things that are way to big for me to do (not too big for God, of course, if He chooses to accomplish them).

But I just think the best way to make changes is the small things.

(I don’t like to hear this either).

If you want to give more in the next year, instead of waiting for the $5,000 to send to the Heifer Project (which you’ll probably end up ‘needing’ to spend before you reach your goal), start giving now by donating old clothing to a shelter, volunteering some odd hours to a good cause, or just offering to pay for the person-in-line-behind-you’s meal at McDonald’s.

If you want to start reading meaningful books, start with an article now, or just go to the library and pick up a book.

We can make changes now. They might not be the ones we had in mind but whatever changes you make for the good even if they’re small will help you get to even bigger ones.

Because change is not an action, it’s a mindset.

Change is a mindset that leads to action.

So what are your plans for the New Year, and what are you going to do with them?

 

Leave a Reply

