“Mini” Me (Me + Minimalism)

DSCF4793

Minimalism. The word can mean many different things. People use it differently, people live it differently.

What it means to me is simplicity, in the fullest sense of the word. Simplicity is not empty of purpose.

Minimalism, to me, is stripping away all the things people think define us and living purposefully, and being who we really are.

People (at least in America) seem to measure someone’s worth with a price tag: the more $$$ signs on your tag, the more value you have.

We are of value because God made us and loves us all equally, and he tells us to treat EVERYBODY with as much love as He does.

We also waste so much in terms of time, money, and resources with our consumerism lifestyles.

Living purposefully is deciding what you think is important, and acting on that. It’s making sure that you accomplish your goals.

When you strip away all the unnecessary stuff, appointments, relationships, whatever it is that is hindering you, you will find out who you really are. It will force you to choose a life of purpose and know what you want.

I have not fully given myself to minimalist lifestyle–for the reason that I live in a house with eight other family members, only one of whom is seriously thinking of minimalism.

While I can’t have everything in my life minimalist right now, I’m working on the things in my own life: weeding out things I’m not crazy about and replacing them with things I want to do, changing my thinking so I think of long-term, quality, and purpose.

Okay, so I still shop at Walmart–but remember I’m a girl on a budget.

Minimalism is a goal. Minimalism is a way of thinking. And it makes a lot of sense to me =)

Leave a Reply

