Book’s I’ve Been Reading

I love reading. Like, I’m always reading something. So you can imagine going to the library two-three times a week is VERY tempting. You know, like you want to pull all the books off the shelves and cart them home. Except then you think that you wouldn’t be able to read that many in a long, long time (your whole life, no doubt).

Well, I haven’t done too badly. In about a year or a little less, I’ve checked out forty-some books from the library, besides re-reading some of my own books. Because I read books more than once. Books like Little Women and Jane Austen’s novels and Sherlock Holmes.

But anyway, I thought I’d give you a little peek into what I’ve been reading and what I thought about it. So here’s the first one up:

Mayflower.jpg

Mayflower by Nathaniel Philbrick

Do you really know the story of the pilgrims? Instead of the traditional, nice-all-around pie-and-turkey-dinner first Thanksgiving, Philbrick takes you on a little different route-plus a longer one. From a difficult start to a war fifty-five years after their landing, the Pilgrims’ story is one that captures you with their strength, willingness, and determination.

Philbrick also makes sure you understand how things are going from the Indian’s  standpoint. Full of history but with an attractive writing style, I found his book very interesting and would read it again.

So, even though it’s not Thanksgiving, if you’re interested in reading up in your history, and being drawn back into the time when the land of America was new and unknown, grab a copy of this book to read!

Leave a Reply

